New (old) machine

Singer Featherweight 221k

Future posts will reveal my interest (obsession?) for vintage Singer sewing machines and I recently decided I really must have a featherweight machine. This takes my overall sewing machine count to five. Which I think is perfectly reasonable.

I bid on a couple of machines on ebay and eventually won this one. It arrived first thing this morning. I have to say I am elated. It was sold by the lady who bought it new, 56 years ago, and has been carefully maintained and regularly serviced over the years. I have cleaned and oiled it, threaded it up and done a test run. It is wonderful. It is so quiet and efficient. I am looking forward to doing loads of sewing on this little machine. There’s something so soulful about a piece of machinery which has lived alongside people for more than half a century. I am happy to give it a new home!


2 Comments on “New (old) machine”

  1. Stitch Nerd says:

    Hello,
    Your Featherweight is lovely!


Leave a comment